Skip to the content


About the Touch World Cup

The first Touch World Cup took place in 1988 with 13 teams competing across four categories. Since then the tournament has gone from strength-to-strength with more countries bringing their best players every four years.

The Touch World Cup has visited a diverse range of locations, including the Gold Coast (1988), Sydney (1999) and Coffs Harbour (2015) in Australia, Auckland in New Zealand (1991), Waikiki Beach in Hawaii, USA (1995), Kumagaya in Japan (2003), Stellenbosch in South Africa (2007) and Edinburgh (2011).

As may be expected from the country which invented the sport, Australia has been the dominant force in international Touch, but in more recent editions New Zealand have been taking home category titles and other teams such as the Cook Islands, Italy, South Africa, Samoa and England have been reaching finals, too.

The 2019 Touch World Cup will be doubly-significant for the international game. Not only will it be the biggest ever tournament with 116 teams playing in 15 categories, but its location on the outskirts of Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia, will be the first time that the Touch World Cup will have been played in south-east Asia, the crossroads of the world.

The venue - Putrajaya Equestrian Park - has been tested already with the nine-team Youth World Cup in 2018 and Touch Malaysia is looking forward to welcoming the world's best teams in April 2019!


Opens Men's Open, Women's Open, Mixed Open

Seniors Women's 27s, Men's 30s, Mixed 30s, Men's 35s, Women's 35s

Masters Men's 40s, Women's 40s, Mixed 40s, Men's 45s, Women's 45s, Men's 50s, Women's 50s

We are England Touch

We are the players. We are the supporters, willing us on. We are the medals, waiting to be won. We are the touchdowns, waiting to be scored. We are the men and women of all ages. We are the talent of today. We are the potential for tomorrow. We are one team. We are England Touch